Delhi Capitals Demolish Punjab Kings With Ease - Win By 7 Wickets

Delhi Capitals Demolish Punjab Kings With Ease - Win By 7 Wickets

4 May 2021 08:54 am

29th Match IPL 2021 - Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings - (Ahmedabad)

Delhi Capitals secured the top slot in the points table as they pulled off their sixth win from seven matches beating the Punjab Kings by seven wickets whilst chasing down a 167 target with more than two overs to spare in Ahmedabad on Sunday.

The Kings took the field minus their captain and leading run-maker KL Rahul who was sidelined with appendicitis and in his absence Mayank Agarwal produced a one-man show to make an unbeaten 99 with none in the line-up able to keep him company for a long period.

But Mayank's 99 made in 58 balls with eight fours and four sixes was never enough to challenge the Delhi Capitals who walked away with the victory in 17.4 overs.

The biggest disappointment yet again for the Kings was the man they call the Universal Boss, Chris Gayle, that paceman Kagiso Rabada clean bowled with a full toss that shattered his stumps with his score on 13.

England batsman Dawid Malan playing his first match for the Kings was the only other batsman to offer some resistance as he chipped in with 26 from an equal number of balls.

Run-making looked so easy for the Delhi Capitals as one of the IPLs most consistent opening pairs of Shikkar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw produced another half century stand inside the first six power-play overs before the latter was bowled by Harpreet Brar for 39 with the total at 63.

Shaw faced just 22 balls hitting three sixes and three fours but Dhawan stayed on to pile up the runs and remain unbeaten on 69 as he struck six fours and two sixes from the 47 balls he faced.

West Indies batsman Shimron Hetmyer found run-making a cakewalk that he hit two sixes and a four from the four balls he faced in making 16 as the Delhi Capitals finished off the match.

Chief Scores:

Punjab Kings 166 for 6 in 20 overs (Mayank Agarwal 99 not out)
Delhi capitals 167 for 3 in 17.4 overs (Shikkar Dhawan 69 not out)