Sri Lanka Set For 2nd Test & Series Win In Kandy

Sri Lanka Set For 2nd Test & Series Win In Kandy

4 May 2021 08:46 am

2nd Test Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh - Day 4 - (Kandy)

Spin duo Ramesh Mendis and Praveen Jayawickrama put Sri Lanka in with a chance to win the second and final cricket Test against Bangladesh who were left reeling at 177 for 5 in pursuit of a 437 target at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Mendis plucked three wickets while Jayawickrama who was making his first Test appearance grabbed two scalps as the Bangladesh batsmen failed to apply themselves on a pitch that was still playing fair on the fourth day.

Bangladesh appeared to be settling in not to lose any more wickets at 104 for 2, but a lapse in concentration on the part of Najmul Shanto and skipper Mominul Haque allowed Sri Lanka to dictate terms and strike three more times in the final session of play.

The first to go was Shanto who allowed a ball from Jayawickrama to creep through the middle of his defence and hit the leg stump while playing forward to a turning delivery with his score on 26.

Mominul did not last long either and followed Shanto into the pavilion when he played a ball from Mendis onto his off stump with his score on 32 to bring to the crease the last of the frontline batsman Liton Das to join Mushfiqur Rahim.

But in yet another lapse in concentration, Rahim played a rising ball from Mendis to be caught by Dhananjaya de Silva at leg-gully for 40 as Bangladesh slumped to 171 for 5 and the prospect of defeat staring at them.

Mendis signalled his arrival, to play a leading part on the day, when with a beauty of a delivery he had opener Tamim Iqbal edge the ball to the keeper, while playing forward with his score on 24 after Sri Lanka declared 20 minutes after lunch at 194 for 9 setting the 437 target.

Co-opener Saif Hassan followed soon after Tamim's dismissal becoming Jayawickrama's first victim in the innings for a score of 24 with five fours and a six.

Chief Scores:

Sri Lanka 493 for 7 (D Karunaratne 118, L Thrimanne 140) and 194 for 9 (D Karunaratne 66, T Islam 5 for 72)
Bangladesh 251 (Tamim Iqbal 92, P Jayawickrama 6 for 92) and 177 for 5