Sunrisers Lose Sixth Match By 55 Runs To Rajasthan Royals

Sunrisers Lose Sixth Match By 55 Runs To Rajasthan Royals

3 May 2021 08:56 pm

28th Match - IPL 2021 - Rajasthan Royals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad - (Delhi)

Sunrisers Hyderabad crashed to their sixth defeat, unable to bear a blistering innings of 124 from Rajasthan Royals' opening batsman Jos Buttler, who made his maiden T20 hundred as his team successfully defended a 220 total to win by 55 runs in Delhi on Sunday.

Buttler should have been ruled out leg-before on 20 had the Sunrises not wasted a decision review early in the innings.

But the opener cashed in on his day as he smashed eight sixes and 11 fours before he played the last ball of the 19th over onto his stumps after taking just 64 balls to make his 124 that made him the undisputed man of the match.

Buttler held the innings together with Sanju Samson (48) while sharing in a 150-run stand for the second wicket after losing his opening partner Yashasvi Jaiswal (12) and then went on a hitting spree in the death overs that ensured the Rajasthan Royals made a match-winning 220 total for the loss of three wickets.

The Sunrisers also paid the price for dropping Samson on 23 who went on to hit two sixes and four fours as the Royals went on to post only their third win from seven matches.

Buttler in particular was severe on Sandeep Sharma and Vijay Shankar who together conceded 92 runs from seven overs.

The Royals made short work of the Sunrisers in defending the target as they were curtailed to 165 for 8 in the 20 overs with Chris Morris and Mushtafizur Rahman sharing six wickets.

The Sunrisers went into the match without David Warner who was sacked from the captaincy that was handed over to Kane Williamson.

In Warner's absence the Sunrisers opening pair of Jonny Bairstow and Manish Panday put on 57 runs for the first wicket in the first six power-play overs.

But with Panday's dismissal, bowled by Mushtafizur in the first ball of the seventh over for 31, the writing was on the wall for the Sunrisers who lost wickets at regular intervals.

Williamson's contribution was 20 in 21 balls with just one four while Bairstow made 30.

Chief Scores:

Rajasthan Royals 220 for 3 in 20 overs (Jos Buttler 124, Sanju Samson 48)
Sunrisers Hyderabad 165 for 8 in 20 overs