List of Opposition MPs endorsed 20A revealed

List of Opposition MPs endorsed 20A revealed

22 October 2020 08:59 pm

The 20th Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka has been passed with a two-thirds majority in Parliament at its second reading, securing 156 votes in favour and 65 votes in opposition. 

11 MPs have reportedly refrained themselves from voting for the amendment. Accordingly the 20A has been passed in Parliament with a mojority of 91 votes in the second reading. 

Meanwhile, it was revealed that eight MPs representing the Opposition have voted in favour of the new constitutional adaptation. 

Diana Gamage - Samagi Jana Balawegaya (national list elect)
Nazeer Ahmed - Sri Lanka Muslim Congress
Faizal Kasim - Sri Lanka Muslim Congress
H.M.M. Haris - Sri Lanka Muslim Congres
M.S. Thawfik - Sri Lanka Muslim Congress
Ishak Ahmad - All Ceylon Muslim Congress
A.A.S.M. Rahim - Muslim National Alliance
Aravinda Kumar - Tamil Progressive Alliance