Subject Minister appoints new members of National Sports Council

Subject Minister appoints new members of National Sports Council

20 August 2020 08:05 pm

New members for the National Sports Council have been appointed by Subject Minister Namal Rajapaksa. The National Sports Council is entrusted with guiding the Subject Minister on the policies of sports affairs and these appointments run for a term of two years. 

Former leader of National Cricket Team of Sri Lanka Mahela Jayawardena has been appointed as the President of the Council, followed by Kumar Sangakkara, Julian Bolling, Dilantha Malagamuwa and a number of sports veterans as members.

Army Commander Shavendra Silva and Director General of Sports Ministry A.J.S.S. Edirisooriya also represent the Council, and Mrs. Thiyumi Abeysinghe has been appointed as the Secretary.

Mahela Jayawardene – Chairman
Julian Bolling – Committee Member
Kumar Sangakkara – Committee Member
Dilantha Malagamuwa – Committee Member
Kasturi Chellaraja Wilson – Committee Member
Supun Weerasinghe – Committee Member
Rohan Fernando – Committee Member
Ruwan Keragala – Committee Member
Sanjeewa Wickramanayake – Committee Member
Major General Rajitha Ampemohotti – Committee Member
Lieutenant General Shaveendra Silva – Committee Member
Rowena Samarasinghe – Committee Member
Yaswanth Muttetuwegama – Committee Member
A.J.S.S Edirisooriya – Committee Member
Thiyumi Abeysinghe – Appointed Secretary