SJB, JVP and SLPP leave out Defeated Candidates

SJB, JVP and SLPP leave out Defeated Candidates

8 August 2020 05:48 pm

Both the SJB and SLPP have left out defeated candidates from their national list.

Sajith Premadasa issuing a statement says that the SJB will not appoint any defeated candidates to Parliament. Accordingly Sujewa Senasinghe, Hirunika Premachandra and Paranavitharna will not be nominated to Parliament. 

The SLPP included professionals nominated in the National List. 

The JVP, according to internal sources, will be nominating Bimal Rathnayake. Sunil Hadunnetti failed to secure a seat and will not be nominated. 

The UNP has also followed the policy of not nominating defeated candidates to parliament. Accordingly it is very unlikely Former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe will nominate himself to parliament.