The Prime Minister will be sworn on 09th August

The Prime Minister will be sworn on 09th August

7 August 2020 12:33 pm

The leader of the SLPP Mahinda Rajapaksa, who won the general election held on the 5th, will be sworn in as the new Prime Minister the day after tomorrow (09), SLPP sources said. He is scheduled to be sworn in as the Prime Minister before President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa and is preparing to hold a ceremony.

This is Mahinda Rajapaksa's fourth term as Prime Minister. He became Prime Minister for the first time in 2004 and was elected President in 2005.

Mr. Rajapaksa, who lost the 2015 presidential election, returned to parliament and was sworn in as Prime Minister for the second time in October 2018 before former President Maithripala Sirisena. However, the post lasted less than two months and he had to resign. After Gotabhaya Rajapaksa won the 2019 presidential election, Mahinda Rajapaksa was re-elected Prime Minister.

It is reported that the new cabinet will be sworn in on the 10th after the swearing in of Mahinda Rajapaksa on the day after tomorrow. Most likely the new government will be a national government. SLPP did not win a direct two-thirds majority in the general election and has the opportunity to form a national government with a two-thirds majority with several parties supporting the party.