Queensland to close border to New South Wales

Queensland to close border to New South Wales

5 August 2020 02:57 pm

Australia's Queensland will extend its border closure to New South Wales (NSW) and the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) to halt the spread of coronavirus from south-eastern states.

It has already shut to Victoria - the centre of Australia's second wave - amid an outbreak in Melbourne.

Victoria reported 725 new infections on Wednesday, yet another daily record despite being four weeks into lockdown.

NSW saw many fewer - 12 - but all other states have consistently fared better.

Sydney - the NSW capital and Australia's largest city - has been averaging about 80 infections per week, prompting concerns that community transmission could grow.

It has so far avoided returning to a second lockdown, but recently advised people to begin wearing masks.