First round of Postal Voting today

First round of Postal Voting today

13 July 2020 08:47 am

The postal voting for 2020 General Election is set to commence its first round today (13). The date has been reserved for only the MOH staff members. 

Accordingly, postal voting will be carried out in MOH offices around the island. However, the schedule was shifted away for Rajanganaya, Anuradhapura on Sunday (12) as the new wave of Coronavirus stroke the area.

In addition, postal voting is set to continue for July 14, 15, 16 and 1, whilst July 20 and 21 are reserved for those who are unable to cast their votes on the said dates. 

In this year's general polls, 705,085 eligible candidates are set to cast their postal votes. 

At the moment, no decision to postpone the general election has been taken, according to Election Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya. He made this emphasis speaking to media after a meeting held in Gampaha District office on Sunday.

Deshapriya added, that he is confident that there may not be any need for further postponement of the election amidst the contagion's impact.