10 National Museums to be reopened from tomorrow

10 National Museums to be reopened from tomorrow

30 June 2020 02:29 pm

Some of the national museums closed down in the wake of the COVID-19 crisis are set to be reopened, the National Museum Department revealed.

Accordingly 10 national museums out of 11 national museums under the dept will be reopened from tomorrow (01), Director General of the National Museum Department Sanuja Kasthuriarachchi said.  

Meanwhile, the Dutch Museum will remain closed until the maintenance duties are completed, she added. 

The national museums set for reopening will comply with the heath directives, and the public is expected to mandatory use of facemasks during visits, Kasthuriarachchi stressed. 

All visitors who enter the museum premises must clean their hands and facilities have been provided in this regard, she further added. 

The visiting hours will be from 9 am to 4.30 pm, and issuing tickets will be closed daily at 2.30 pm. 

Should anyone wish to visit a museum in groups, this should be informed to the department by contacting the hotline available in the dept website, the director general requested.