Series of internal crises upon naming Cabinet

Series of internal crises upon naming Cabinet

21 November 2019 07:54 am

Many internal crises have come to fore as the new Cabinet of President Gotabaya Rajapaksa's caretaker government is being established. 

The new Cabinet comprises of 15 ministries in which seven of them have been distributed to the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), five for stakeholder parties to the SLPP and three for Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP).

The five ministries for stakeholder parties have been distributed to Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila, Dinesh Gunawardena, Vasudewa Nanayakkara and Arumugam Thondaman, sources disclosed. Mr. Thondaman was selected particularly for a ministerial portfolio as the Tamil representation in the Cabinet would be vital. 

The three ministries for the SLFP would not be at the tendency to be distributed to either of the Group 15 who had separated from the SLFP in 2018, according to sources, whilst revealing that one SLFP ministry would like to be distributed to Mr. Faiszer Musthapha, as there were no Muslim representation in the SLFP, filling the essential requirement of Muslim representation in the Cabinet.

Meanwhile, filing the requirement of female representation, one SLPP ministry would likely to be distributed to Mrs. Pavithra Wanniarachchi, whilst the remaining six ministries are being contested for among fifty SLPP members.

In the meantime, there is a serious question as to how Wimal Weerawansa will be appointed in a Cabinet ministry if there are several lawsuits against him, while MPs Mahindananda, Johnston and Rohitha charged with serious lawsuits have already been ousted from the Cabinet on the basis of clearing the Cabinet with no corrupts, according to sources.