Sri Lanka State Photography Ceremony 2018

Sri Lanka State Photography Ceremony 2018

21 August 2018 07:56 am

The ‘Sri Lanka State Photography Ceremony 2018’ was held on 19 August under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at Nelum Pokuna Theater in Colombo.

The State Photography Film Festival is organized annually, with the objective of popularizing the art of photography and enhancing the high quality of photography, by The National Association of Photographers, The Art Council of Sri Lanka, Ministry of Higher Education and Cultural Affairs and Department of Cultural Affairs.

Awards were presented to photographers who have contributed to promoting photography both as an art and a career, at both local and international levels.

Famous photographer Henry Rajakaruna was awarded Chayarupa Abhimani, an award presented to a photographer only once in life, by the President.

The President presented awards to the winners who won first place in the fields of human activities and environmental impacts, lifestyles and culture, nature and landscape, news and media, and open section.

Minister Wijedasa Rajapakse, State Minister Mohan Lal Grero, Secretary to Ministry of Higher Education and Cultural Affairs J.J. Rathnasiri, Director General of Department of Cultural Affairs Anusha Gokula, Chairman of National Association of Photographers Berty Gunasekara and several other officials participated in the event.

photos 01

photos 02

photos 03

photos 04

photos 05

photos 06

photos 07